Text From Mother: New Pope

Leave a comment

March 13, 2013 by kitcac

That’s it really, its all she said in the text. She’s brief yet informative.

Getting a new Pope makes me feel a bit sad. Who would want to start a new job at 76 years old? Does he actually do the Twitter stuff himself? Wouldn’t he prefer a nice tot of communion wine and a sprawl in a chair watching Flog It?

And it also makes me feel a bit sad for me. I mean, I’m now on my third Pope. I’m on my fifth Prime Minister. I have a lot of tupperware. Items on my Amazon Wishlist include a wind-up torch and a banana guard.

When did this happen to me? I got old and it happened so fast I didn’t even notice. It took a new Pope for me to realise.

Pray for me and my grey hair, dear Reader.

PS The BBC translation of the Our Father and the Hail Mary really tickled me, which made me feel a little better about being so middle-aged. God bless you Franko.

Leave a Reply

