That Film Where Tom Cruise Makes Cocktails

Leave a comment

February 11, 2013 by kitcac

Does anyone have any idea what its called? No? Anyone?

A work colleague made my day super-fabulous today by asking me if I knew the name of the film where Tom Cruise makes cocktails. Having googled it and checked the Internet Movie Database, I can confirm it is Cocktail.

And that film where a kid does karate? Karate Kid.

The film where the kid does more karate? Karate Kid 2.

After I wiped the coffee off my keyboard I slipped into a brief daydream about films (on my lunch before anyone complains, ok? I daydream on my own time!) The cogs in my mind turned a few times and then I realised that Elisabeth Shue not only played Tom’s bit of fluff in that film where he makes cocktails, but she also played the girlfriend of that lad who did karate!

And and and and….. she was Marty McFly’s girlfriend in Back To The Future 2 and 3! How has this movie trivia avoided being in my brain until just now? And why is El Shue not revered as a film icon like Molly Ringwald or Helen Slater (star of Supergirl and The Secret of My Success, in which she also starred with Michael J Fox)?

I am going to write some letters and see if I can get Elisabeth Shue a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

