That’s Not My Name

Leave a comment

December 16, 2012 by kitcac

When JWop was born, I knew his name (its not JWop) but I kept calling him other stuff.

I called him James, I called him William, I called him Blue. None of those are his name. I even referred to him as “she” even though I had such strong feelings from early in my pregnancy that I was having a baby boy.

The most frequent name I used was Blue, the dog’s name. I am a bad mutha.

But now, nearly eight months later, I am feeling a different type of guilt. I keep calling the dog by the baby’s name. He has a really sad face when I get his name wrong.

He looks sad and Blue. But I still call him JWop.

Leave a Reply

