The Gangnam Style Incident

2

November 16, 2012 by kitcac

It happened on 5 October 2012.  I don’t know what time it happened because I was a bit pickled.

I decided that it would be a most excellent idea to dance to Gangnam Style with an 18 year old boy.  I was very bouncy.  I did all the moves, perhaps not in the correct order.

And then the next day I thought that I had been in some sort of horseriding accident.  With an actual horse.

Oh my life.  Oh my leg!  My right leg has not been the same since.

It started off with a bit of pain but this has got progressively worse.  I can stand comfortably and I can sit comfortably but anything in between those two positions is not happening easily.

When I stand up, I have to move my right leg in a strange semi-circle to be able to set off walking.  This is embarrassing.  I can’t move away from a cash machine or take a few steps in a queue without doing The Semi Circle Move.

When I move to sit down or stand up or to turn over in bed I go “eeeeeeeesssssssssh”.

When I get in or out of the car I say “iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiggggggggggh”.

I am sure that the dance itself was downright fabulous, but I am suffering.  Suffrin’ gangnam style!

In the end, after a month and a week of agonising pain I went to my doctor.  It was vairy vairy embarrassing to have to explain to her what I had done.  In fact I specifically asked for her as she is one of the younger doctors and would probably know what “gangnam style” is.  I really didn’t want to have to demonstrate the moves by way of explanation.

I sat down (“eeeeeeessssssh”) I explained that it was very embarrassing for a woman of my age but I had hurt myself bouncing about to Gangnam Style over a month ago and it had got to the stage of getting electric shock type pains when I move.

Fair play to her, she did not laugh at me.  I would have laughed at me.  It turns out that I now have sciatica because of silly dancing.  Nice one!

Strong painkillers are working and wine is too.  Ehhhhh shexshy laydeeee!

2 thoughts on “The Gangnam Style Incident

  1. Lisa K says:

    Hahaha. I bet the doctor recounted that story over dinner (…with names changed in line with confidentiality policy and hippocratic do-dahs, obviously).

Leave a Reply

