Three Blind Mice – Call The RSPCA

1

November 12, 2012 by kitcac

What a sick and cruel song to sing to children!

I have many questions about the three blind mice.  Obviously I am aware that it is actually about Bloody Mary (random trivia head), but couldn’t someone come up with a less odd song?

Lets break it down:

Three blind mice, three blind mice (how did the mice come to be blinded? Were they all involved in a chemical spill or did they look directly at an eclipse? What are the chances of that?)

See how they run, see how they run (I’d think they’d run quite slowly and cautiously, as they can’t see where they’re going)

They all ran after the farmer’s wife (did they really intend to run after her? They couldn’t see her, so perhaps she smelled like cheese)

She cut off their tails with a carving knife (now this is just downright unnecessary. And surely a farmer’s wife would be made of sterner stuff than be afraid of three visually impaired mice? What does the tail-ectomy achieve? Nothing! It won’t stop the mice chasing you – cutting off their legs might.)

Did you ever see such a thing in your life as three blind mice? (No.  I have never seen three blind rodents with severed tails, nor do I care to.  There’d be a lot of blood and a lot of bumping into things).

One thought on “Three Blind Mice – Call The RSPCA

  1. Sarah says:

    Haha! Some of these children’s songs are just downright twisted, but I never realized it until I became a mother. I’m also questioning many story books, too- I was reading W an abridged (like 4 page board book) version of Beatrix Potter’s “A Fierce bad Rabbit”, and it is pretty effed up! We didn’t even make it past page one, I just started making up my own story, because I couldn’t bring myself to explain that “the man with the gun” had shot the tail off the fierce bad rabbit. Sick. :p

Leave a Reply

