Do I Look OK?

2

November 12, 2012 by kitcac

Stavros and I have an agreement. If we are in a situation were we have to go shopping for clothes (which we both despise) then there’s no point pussy-footing around when it comes to that awkward coming-out-of-the-changing-room-to-do-a-twirl thing.

Our approach can shock other shoppers and it has left a few open-mouthed in the past.

A few years ago, I had seen a gorgeous raspberry coloured dress in Monsoon and wanted it. I wanted it badly.

There were some seats outside the changing rooms for bored husbands so Stavros parked himself there with three other chaps as I headed to try on the dress.

I left the changing room, did the twirling thing in front of Stavros and then said “Well? Verdict please?”

To the horror of the other men waiting, Stavros replied “Awful”.

They were then a bit more shocked when I graciously accepted the verdict, gave him a kiss on the cheek and thanked him for his honesty, before going getting changed and abandoning the dress on the unwanted items rail.

What is the point in him saying it looks ok, only for me to have a meltdown at home later?!

On Saturday night, I had put on my jeggings/Chegwins and wasn’t sure about the top I had on.  I asked Stavros and Deirdre what they thought.  They said it looked fine.

I wasn’t sure that they were sure.

So I asked “If you saw me and didn’t know me, would you comment on this outfit?”

They said that they wouldn’t comment on it and that I looked fine.  I still wasn’t happy with their replies.

So I decided to bring out the big guns.

“If I saw me and didn’t know me, would I comment on this outfit?”

They told me to go and change into something different.  I can only conclude that that means I am a bit of a bitch.  And also that my top didn’t look good.

2 thoughts on “Do I Look OK?

  1. Lisa Benskin says:

    Love this! I too am brutally honest when it comes to shopping with friends so if Stavros is ever busy give Benno a call x

  2. Sarah says:

    Stavros sounds like a good man; and a brave one, too! I like it.

Leave a Reply

