The John Howard Letters: Where it all began

2

July 26, 2012 by kitcac

When I was at school, we had trips to all sorts of places, some of which had questionable educational value.  Flamingo Land Theme Park in Yorkshire being one of them.

The costs of some of these trips was unbelievable (even in the 80s) so my parents couldn’t send both Deirdre and I on all of them.

Imagine my amazement when I read a letter to the Chorley Guardian suggesting that local school children could enjoy a fascinating school trip right here on our doorsteps, to take in the architectural wonders of the QS Fashions building, which is arguably the eighth wonder of the world.

I haven’t got the top part of the letter from 25 May 2012 which sets the scene about triangles in the various aspects of the building, but the majority of it is set out below, for your viewing pleasure:

This is clearly seen in the construction of the roof and prominently placed turets (sic), attractively covered in alternating colours of blue and red.

Innovative projections of the extensive wall on Pall Mall side, again suggest triangles, and carry striking illustrations of recessed brickwork panels, decoratively depicting further pyramidial or triangular panels.

Viewed from every angle, this impressive creation positively projects triangles, leaving no doubt that it was meant to symbolise and enhance as no other building ever could, the V shaped area formed by Pall Mall and Bolton Street.

Being unique to the town, it could well provide a beneficial project for local school children, if they were brought to take note of an exceptional and intriguing example of building design and artistry.

James Lancaster.

Now, I’m not too sure whether the author of the letter, James Lancaster, is a person of similar age to me who has perhaps been dared to write the most bonkers letter ever.

He could actually be serious in his perverse love for the triangles of the QS Fashions building.  It is perhaps one of the ugliest buildings I’ve ever seen.  Preston Bus Station is widely considered to be ugly, but I think its got the potential to be quite beautiful, if only they would spruce it up a bit (starting with the toilets, barf!).  I digress.

Being unsure about this chap James Lancaster and his fondness for QS, I have done a bit of research (wearing a deerstalker hat, naturally) and there is actually a person with his name living on the street referred to in the letter.  So unless someone has stolen his identity to write a letter to the Chorley Guardian, when surely you would clear out his bank account first, I am 95% certain that he genuinely feels this way about the QS Fashions building.

So seeing as I am on maternity leave, I have a bit of time on my hands.  I’m really aiming to learn a foreign language before I go back to work (ahem!) and to also build a kit car which I will paint yellow (ahem ahem!) but in the meantime I am going to be known by my pseudonym “John Howard”, letter writer extraordinaire.

This could be the start of something beautiful.

2 thoughts on “The John Howard Letters: Where it all began

  1. Yes Mrs Kerr, how far are you through the “101 things to do on your baby leave”

Leave a Reply

