Woman becomes first person to get a tattoo of former EastEnders star Lucy Benjamin’s face on her calf, regrets it pretty quickly

Leave a comment

February 21, 2014 by kitcac

kitcac:

For years, no-one has believed me when I spoke about “that woman who had a tattoo of Lucy Benjamin on her leg.” They thought I had suffered a bump to the head, such was the chance of such a thing being true.

I cut the article out of the Metro in 2003 and stuck it on my wall at work. It made me happy on a daily basis, I don’t know why. But then I changed jobs and I woefully regret not taking that article with me. I currently have a photofit of Ken Morley on my wall but it just doesn’t hit the spot in the same way.

I spoke of the tattoo several times over the last few weeks (each time getting disbelieving looks) and it must have been a bit like “If you build it, they will come” cos hecky flip she is real! And back in the Metro!

[http://metro.co.uk/2014/02/20/woman-becomes-first-person-to-get-a-tattoo-of-former-eastenders-star-lucy-benjamins-face-on-her-calf-regrets-it-almost-immediately-4312528/?ITO=SendToAFriend]

Thank you baby Jesus! Now people will realise I don’t invent urban legends for kicks! She is REAL! Praise be!

Originally posted on Metro:

Emma Smith is now having laser surgery to remove the tattoo (Picture: Endemol/Channel 4)

Emma Smith is now having laser surgery to remove the tattoo (Picture: Endemol/Channel 4)

This is Emma and she is almost definitely the only person on this planet to have a tattoo of Lucy Benjamin’s face on her calf.

For most of us, Lucy Benjamin is just the woman who played Phil Mitchell’s lady friend in EastEnders for a while. She appeared in the gossip mags for a bit afterwards because she did a salsa DVD and the celebrity jungle programme, but that was about it.

But for Emma Smith, Lucy Benjamin is so much more; she’s an inspiration. And also a tattoo.

In 2003 the actress was starring as the princess in the Aladdin pantomime at Southampton’s Mayfair Theatre.

Emma went along to see the show and as they say, ‘the rest is history.’

Unmistakeable: Emma's tattoo is the spitting image of Lucy Benjamin (Picture: Endemol/Channel 4)

Unmistakeable: Emma’s tattoo is the spitting image of Lucy Benjamin (Picture: Endemol/Channel 4)

‘I didn’t…

View original 238 more words

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

